Big corporations yet again fucking me over. (Journal Entry #7)

On the job search yet again after my previous job fell through. I’m not a professional post-opener by any means. I’ve been on a few interviews and still waiting to hear back from them. Low and behold, I was called last week by a tech company saying they would love to have a talk with me in person. Me being interested in working in digital marketing was really excited and looked forward to this day.

This morning I threw my best interview clothes over me, slipped my business shoes on and printed out my resume and character reference for my possible future employer. Travelling there by foot, I enthusiastically recited the company motto in my head and juggled all the responsibilities of my job position in my mind. I was ready, really ready. I knocked, was greeted and sat waiting for my interviewer to arrive. He did, we shook hands and he lead me to a big professional lobby where we seated opposite one another. I was ready.

Minutes into our interview, he had already prompted me to speak about my prior IT qualifications, my tech work at my last job and my IT-based hobbies. I’d sold myself well and expressed I was eager to learn more. But he cut me short. He told me I wasn’t ready for the job. I wasn’t qualified enough. I wasn’t to their calibre yet based on my qualifications.

I just… sat there, trying to think of what was going on. Why was I given an interview? Why did he bring me out here to tell me 3 minutes into the interview that I didn’t have what it takes? Why organise this fucking interview in the first place when you have my qualifications and experience in mind already? I’d psyched myself up all week just to be told within minutes of the interview that I’m not good enough.

He spent a good 15 minutes letting me know how to improve, what I need and such. Then he shook my hand and said goodbye. What the fuck did I just do? Why would they bring me out there, take me out of my way just to tell me I’m not what they want? They knew about me, they KNEW I wasn’t to their standards, and they still made me go in.

Now I’m sitting here, by the side of a river wondering what I should even do. How can companies fuck me over like that yet again? I don’t need to be ‘brought in’ just to be told I’m not good enough.

EDIT: Just to clarify, I later received a phone call from another company I interviewed with. They not only offered me the position, but they want me to start in a month. This gives me a lot of time to prepare. Guess things aren’t so bad after all.

Leave a Reply

